Tech Field Day 11 Preview: CloudPhysics

Tech Field Day 11 is coming and I’ve been invited to be a delegate for the event.  I am extremely looking forward to it and looking forward to hearing from the companies presenting at the event.  This post is going to highlight the company I am most looking forward to, which is the SaaS analytics company (for on-site VMware installations), CloudPhysics.

A little history, I first heard about and attended a gathering at VMworld 2013.  At the time, I worked for a very enterprise and we were looking at many different analytics companies and what CloudPhysics was listing as their features intrigued us.  In the exponential growth that company was experiencing, one of the few things they had put time and effort into was a good platform to be able to analyze and help with troubleshooting as the virtual machine counts grew and grew (eventually to well over 50,000 virtual machines by the time I left).  Unfortunately, that company did not choose CloudPhysics, but I was able to get some initial knowledge of the platform.

Now, having this been a while, I made sure to go back and watch the Virtualization Field Day 3 videos, in which CloudPhysics presented.  It was refreshing to hear about analytics of a VMware environment all over again.  While I’ve transitioned away from some of these administrative details of a VMware environment, I still many of the pain points in which CloudPhysics attempts to assist with and report on.

I won’t get into too many of the specific details of how CloudPhysics does it’s work (you can find that out by watching some of the VFD3 videos here).  What I do have, is a few questions that I’d like to ask about the product moving forward.  Here’s a run down of some of the things that I’m interested in:

  1. While there are plenty of cost calculators available for migrating from an on-site VMware  based solution to a public cloud, like Azure or AWS, does CloudPhysics work with public cloud providers to keep providing analytics for the customer after they may have potentially moved workloads to Azure or AWS?
  2. Speaking of Azure, back in the VFD3 videos, there was mention of other hypervisors, like Hyper-V.  I’ve yet to see any marketing on their site about Hyper-V or KVM and usage with CloudPhysics.  I still see this being mentioned as a VMware-only  product?  Are any other hypervisors on the roadmap or is Cloud Physics going to continue to be a VMware-only analytics engine?
  3. In that same realm, as the industry pivots to more application-centric driven infrastructure, I’m also not seeing application related analytics.  While I’m not expecting CloudPhysics to become an application monitoring application, I would expect there might be some subsets of major applications in which there might be some card development for?  I loathe the term “single pane of glass” but as it appears, this tool will drill into my virtual infrastructure with the best of them, but beyond that, I’m expected to augment monitoring with other tools for applications or other physical infrastructure (like storage or network devices)
  4. If this solution is going to be VMware-only based for the foreseeable future, I’m not seeing anything related to some of VMware’s currently heavily marketed products in NSX and VSAN.  While I see plenty of cards related to things like storage contention performance and network I/O control best practice configuration, I’m not seeing anything that would be looking into the NSX layers and telling you where potentially issues are going to arise in the network fabric.  The same goes for the proper monitoring and configuration of the VSAN product.  Just wondering if those layers are going to get exposure into Cloud Physics cards in the near future?
  5. Are there any sort of southbound APIs that would allow for actionable automated responses to issues reported within the CloudPhysics platform?  Evident by the lack of application integration, if I knew when my infrastructure was going to have a problem that represented an application issue and knew it had a high degree of repeatable success, I would want to have my monitoring system to 1) alert me and 2) automatically respond for me.  I think back to when I was at VFD6 and Cirba presented.  The capabilities of API responses to issues was available in that platform and just wondering if something was similiar on CloudPhysics.

While I know there’s likely going to be plenty of thought into the product in the next week or so before the event, these are some of the components that stick out to me, from my point of view.  I look forward to asking these sorts of questions and more of CloudPhysics (and of the other presenters) at Tech Field Day 11 (June 22nd through June 24th, in Boston, MA)

Standard notice….Gestalt IT is paying for travel, lodging, and yummy provisions for me while I attend Tech Field Day 11.  They are NOT paying me, however, to write content about the presenters.

 

 

 

About snoopj

vExpert 2014/2015/2016/2017, Cisco Champion 2015/2016/2017, NetApp United 2017. Virtualization and data center enthusiast. Working too long and too hard in the technology field since college graduation in 2000.
This entry was posted in Technical and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

