Passed the VCP5 Delta Exam!

Happy to report that I finally got around to passing the VCP5 Delta (VCP550D) exam.  This will extend my VCP5 certification for another couple of years.  Finally nice to have one of my certification goals knocked out.

The ill-timed announcement that I could have waited until May 8th (http://blogs.vmware.com/education/2015/03/vcp-recertification-deadline-extended.html) put a little bit of a damper on it, however, I did get a good amount of studying done that would have gone to waste had I chosen to take the exam later.  Also, it appears I might get a good discount on a first-attempt at the VCP6 exam later in the summer.

I will say, however, that we’ve had some interesting last couple of weeks out of VMware’s Education department.  Expiring VCAP exams with little to zero notice, announcing this extension on the VCP5 Delta exam (along with deadlines for just renewing your VCP5 certification, in general)…..I’m starting to get a little nervous in the approach VMware’s Education department is taking with the certifications.  I expected it to be a little bumpy with the transition to VCP6, however, there seems to be a few too many extremes versus the VCP4 to 5 transition.  Hopefully, VMware Education gets this figured out before too long.  I’d hate for the program to end up with too large of a black eye over this.

About snoopj

vExpert 2014/2015/2016, Cisco Champion 2015/2016. Virtualization and data center enthusiast. Working too long and too hard in the technology field since college graduation in 2000.
This entry was posted in Technical and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

