My current technology feud: UCS Director & the Nexus 7000 platform

Over the last 6-12 months, I’ve been tasked with baking the Cisco UCS Director platform (which I do feel is a really solid platform, even with some very evident flaws) for rollout into a production environment.  It’s no secret that I’ve had a hell of a time trying to get some pieces of Cisco Nexus equipment to work with UCS Director (I’m staring at you, you pesky Nexus 7000 line!).

What really took the cake was getting a problem resolution from Cisco TAC this last week related to an issue I was having where I couldn’t even add one of the Nexus 7000s (specifically, we have Nexus 7004s) into UCS Director.  I was getting an immediate “Connection Exceeded Timeout” error upon the attempt.  After setting UCS Director into debug mode and gathering the log files for TAC to run through, I sent them on to TAC and waited for the response.  As a stop gap measure, instead of trying to add the Nexus 7004 from the admin VDC instance, I resorted to adding the 7004’s into UCS Director via the single non-admin VDC instance I planned on using.  It’s not ideal, but it does get the job done.

Earlier this week, I finally received word on what the issue was.  I was flabbergasted as to what the root cause of the problem was.  According to TAC, my issue was related to a single setting that one of my teammates had set on the device:

terminal color persist

Yep.  You read that right.  Setting the terminal to colored text caused UCS Director to not add a Nexus device into it’s database.  Low and behold, we removed the persistent setting (no terminal color persist) and I was able to add the 7004 into UCS Director without a single issue.

As one of my teammates mentioned to me, “UCSD has got to be the dumbest system I have ever seen…ever.”  Now, having worked with UCS Director over the last year, I know that is being overly critical of an entire system based on one problem, but I’m at a loss to try to figure out how this setting could be causing a problem with a SSH connection that we, as the user’s and administrator’s of the system, never get to see.

Unfortunately, this now goes into the pile of other quirks I’ve ran into.  At this rate, I’m seriously wondering what sort of other weirdness I’m going to have with UCS Director and the Nexus devices in my lab/production environment.  I will give TAC some credit in getting this resolved.  I’m just trying to figure out why that setting would cause that sort of problem.

About snoopj

vExpert 2014/2015/2016/2017, Cisco Champion 2015/2016/2017, NetApp United 2017. Virtualization and data center enthusiast. Working too long and too hard in the technology field since college graduation in 2000.
This entry was posted in Technical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

